Michael Kelly: The CRU Mails – anatomy of Climategate

The Arab proverb ‘My brother and I against my cousin ; my cousin and I against the stranger’ comes to mind as does Blackadder teling Baldrick to deny everything. I know if I had engaged in such behaviour at work I’d be at Her Majesties pleasure (us mortals not being afforded a get out of jail card).

Tallbloke's Talkshop

Hat tip to Geoff Chambers and Tom Nelson for alerting us to this gem hidden away on archive.org. A the beginnings of  plot for a film about the Climategate emailS plus background research by Michael Kelly. It’s very long, and I’m reblogging it here so it doesn’t get lost. Dip in and enjoy.

PDF of this article with external links is here (320k)

The CRU Mails
by Michael Kelly

yamal-larchLike an Aristophanes satire, like Hamlet, it opens with two slaves, spear-carriers, little people. Footsoldiers of history, two researchers in a corrupt and impoverished mid-90s Russia schlep through the tundra to take core samples from trees at the behest of the bigger fish in far-off East Anglia. Stepan and Rashit don’t even have their own e-mail address and like characters in some absurdist comedy must pass jointly under the name of Tatiana M. Dedkova. Conscientious and obliging, they strike a human…

View original post 22,401 more words

Leave a Reply

